General informations

For all general informations regarding visas inquiry for France, please refer to France Foreign Ministry website, and especially the exemption criteria for Visas.

Schengen Area includes 26 member States since 01/01/2014 :

Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France (excluding Overseas departments and territories), Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lituania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland

A. Non-European citizens inhabiting in the Benelux area

They can freely travel within the Schengen Area (including France) without the need of a Visa, for a period of maximum 90 days. They can travel with their passport and their residence permit (either Belgian, Dutch or Luxembourgish). Both documents must be valid for all the duration of the trip.

B. Non-european citizens holding a long stay visa (type D) emitted by one of the Benelux countries

If the visa mentions "only valid for : COUNTRY", citizens are therefore authorized to travel within the Schengen Area without any additional visa for a maximum 90 days period per semester. Both the above-mentioned visa and your passport have to remain valid during the period of your trip.

C. Overseas departments and territories of France

  • 1. Definitions.
    Oversas Departments of France (DOM) : Guadeloupe, Martinique, Guyane Française et Réunion.
    Overseas territories of France (CTOM) : Nouvelle Calédonie, Polynésie Française et Wallis-et-Futuna.
    Overseas collectivity of France in America (CTOM d’Amérique) : Saint-Barthélemy, Saint-Martin et Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon.
  • 2. Benelux citizens are exempted from an entry visa when travelling to the DOM, CTOM and CTOM in America, either for a short stay (less than 90 days) or for a long stay (more than 90 days).
  • 3. Non-european citizens, holding a valid residence permit or long stay visa (type D) emitted by Belgium, Luxembourg and the Nederlands - meaning a member State of the Schegen Area and fully complying with the entirety of the Schengen Convention - are therefore exempted from an entry visa for the Overseas Departments and Territories of France (DOM, CTOM and CTOM in America) as long as the stay does not exceed 90 days per semester. They must travel with a passport (at least 6 months of validity after the return) and their residence permit (belgian, luxembourgish or dutch) or type D visa. All documents above-mentioned must remain valid for the whole duration of the trip.

D. Signification of the different types of Visa

- Type D visa = long stay visa.
- Type C visa = short stay visa.
- VLS-TS = Long Stay Visa equivalent to a Residence Permit.
- OFII = "Office Français pour l’Immigration et l’Intégration" (French Agency for Immigration and Integration) ; Website
- DIRECCTE = Direction Régionale des Entreprises, de la Concurrence, de la Consommation, du Travail et de l’Emploi (Regional Direction for Business, Competition, Consumption, Labour and Employment) ; Website

Consulate General of France in Brussels is not qualified for any visa extension

E. Responsible authorities in Belgium

Foreign nationals entering the Schengen Area with a valid short stay visa (type C) can extend their stay in Belgium through the approbation of belgium authorities (communal services or Foreigners Office).

Concerning Brussels-capital region, you can contact Foreigners Office (l’Office des Étrangers) :

Federal Public Service Interior
Office des Etrangers
Chaussée d’Anvers 59 b
1000 Bruxelles
Tél : 02 793 80 00

F. Apply for a Visa at Consulate General of France

Consulate General of France in Brussels is only qualified for visa applications regarding foreign nationals in the Benelux (Belgium, Luxembourg, Netherlands).

Since 2009, Consulate General of France in Brussels emits biometric visas.

To apply for a visa, you must book an appointment solely online HERE.

For all other requests, you can contact us HERE.

Personal appearance is mandatory for all visa application.

Visas are never emitted on the very day of the application.

The issue of a visa takes between 1 to 15 days. However, depending on the amount of work, specially during summer and winter holidays, it can be postponed.
In order to avoid any incovenience, you can still book an appointment up to 3 months before your departure.

Visa section never keeps your passports.

Useful links: If you ever consider working in France or if you wish to ask for a family reunification, you could find many informations regarding these procedures on the OFII website.

Last modified on 05/09/2014

top of the page